13 – Brave? #NaBloPoMo

This post is part of BlogHer’s writing prompts for NaBloPloMo I won’t even pretend I’ll be sure to blog every day, but I’ll try even if it’s just something short or a picture. (What is NaBloPoMo? wiseGEEK has the answer)

There’s a very fine line between brave and stupid if you’ve asked me. There have been times that I’ve crossed from brave to stupid unwittenly but I try to toe the line and not do stupid things.

I’ve gone cliff diving, skied ridiculously difficult trails, left relationships people thought I shouldn’t, walked away from a job to another with a significantly lower salary, took a chance on a guy from Chicago, and any number of things that many would say took some serious guts to do. The thing in my mind that took the most bravery was to go back to college.

While many things were hard, including that phone call to tell my parents I was not going back to school the fall of 2000, going back to school a little more than a year later was much more difficult. I would be living with people I didn’t know, taking random classes because I didn’t know what the heck I wanted to do upon my return, and leaving the safety of a company that treated me decently well. I was walking back into a world that in my mind, I did not belong in, but that I knew I needed to take a deep breath and make it my own.

I moved in and started classes with shaky steps that were taken with the nagging thought in the back of my mind, “Will I be good enough for this?” and “Is my future worth this risk?”

It took a few months of classes, but I soon found the answer to both questions was, “Yes.”

Leave a Reply

