on differences

“We could learn a lot from crayons. Some are sharp, some are dull, some have weird names,all are different, but they all live in the same box. “

This sign hangs in the school where I vote and it makes me smile every time I see it.

As you walk into the school, you walk under the veritable UN worthy collection of flags that hang in the entry way. (It’s my understanding that the flags are representative of the school’s student body. If this is true, the school is rather ethnically and culturally diverse.) The impression of all those flags may or may not stick with you as it does me, but if it does and you see this sign on one of the bulletin boards you can appreciate the undertaking that is at hand.

Did you know that while kids understand the differences between themselves and those around them from a rather early age, they don’t really care about them until someone else tells them that being different is wrong? They have to be taught that being different is bad.

I’ve always believed that it’s really differences that make this world go round. Some people are very different than me. I might not agree with others or think their positions have any sort of validity, but I can not tell you how much I appreciate those differences. Some of them make me challenge my understanding of our differences, some make them challenge my understanding of myself. All of them provide an opportunity for improvement.

Why is being wrong different? I challenge you this week. Find someone you KNOW is different than you and instead of focusing on those differences, figure out what you might also have in common.

I dare you.

One thought on “on differences

  1. Pingback: 5 – Thoughts about (US) Election Day #NaBloPoMo « Courtney Sanik and then some

Leave a Reply

